Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training


Course Overview


This qualification is part of a suite of Education and Training qualifications which incorporate the new qualifications that replace the Level 3 Award in Preparing to teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS), Level 4 Certificate in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (CTLLS) and Level 5 Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (DTLLS).

The Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training is a teaching qualification which has a teaching/training practice requirement. It is an ‘in service’ qualification designed for those working or wishing to work as teachers/trainers. All candidates must have access to 100 hours of teaching and there must be a minimum of eight observations of practice, totalling a minimum of eight hours.

Candidates who successfully complete this qualification will take an analytical and practical approach to all aspects of planning, delivering and assessing inclusive teaching and learning. Whilst doing this, candidates will embed theories and principles in education and training and demonstrate them in their practice. Candidates will also carry out research into professionalism in education and training policies and consider their impact on their role and their accountability as a teacher/trainer. Candidates will also have the opportunity to contribute to quality improvement and quality assurance within their own organisation. 


Assessment is portfolio based through varied coursework assignments, essays, group and individual presentations, reflective practice, 8 observed teaching sessions and a professional development portfolio. 

Entry requirements

Learners must meet the following minimum criteria:

  • Reading and communication skills should be adequate to meet the requirements of the training.
  • Do not have a criminal background which prevents them working, with young people or vulnerable adults, as a teacher
  • Hold a relevant qualification at a level above that of their learners; ideally at least Level 3 in their area of specialism
  • Minimum core of literacy, language, numeracy and ICT
  • Access to 100 hours teaching practice whilst on the course

Progression routes

Teachers can then progress with their professional development by working towards QTLS (Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills). Many previous students’ progress BA Degree programmes such as the BA (Hons) Education and Professional Development.